

IDAHO HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION

Serving Idaho's Youth Since 1926

Chad Williams, Executive Director
Julie Hammons, Assistant Director Mike Federico, Assistant Director
8011 W Ustick Road Boise, ID 83704
(208) 375-7027 www.idhsaa.org admin@idhsaa.org

2024-25 Schools of Excellence

The Idaho High School Activities Association is pleased to announce the 2024-2025 winners of the "Schools of Excellence" program. This yearlong, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their student-athletes' performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship is the top award for the IHSAA and its member schools. The top three schools in each classification with the best overall programs will be recognized at the IHSAA Annual Meeting, August 6th.

6A	Rocky Mountain High School 2 nd place – Mountain View High School	Dan Lunt, Principal; Troy Rice, AD 3 rd place – Eagle High School
5A	Twin Falls High School 2 nd place – Bishop Kelly High School	Nancy Jones, Principal; Shaun Walker, AD 3 rd place – Century High School
4 A	Kimberly High School 2 nd place – Sugar-Salem High School	Darin Gonzales, Principal; Zach Dong, AD 3 rd place – Snake River High School
3A	Malad High School 2 nd place – Declo High School	Dallan Rupp, Principal; Joshua Smith, AD 3 rd place – Ririe High School
2A	Grace High School 2 nd place – Oakley High School	Bryan Jensen, Principal; Travis Draper, AD 3 rd place – Potlatch High School
1A	Rockland High School 2 nd place – Genesee High School	Greg Larson, Principal; Andrew Nelson, AD 3 rd place – Carey High School

The three major areas of high school activities are weighted equally in determining recipients of the award.

- The <u>Academic Component</u> is based on the varsity team's cumulative GPA as submitted on the State Academic Champions application for all IHSAA sponsored sports/activity programs.
- The <u>Performance Component</u> is based on place of finish at IHSAA-sponsored state championships and activity program competitions.
- The <u>Citizenship Component</u> is based on a school's self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form. Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.

In addition to the primary awards, schools that score 90% on the Citizenship Component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments will receive an "Award of Excellence" certificate. The 2024-2025 Award of Excellence schools are Mountain View, Owyhee, Kuna, Bonneville, Century, Twin Falls, Wood River, Kimberly, Sugar-Salem, Snake River, McCall-Donnelley, Cole Valley Christian, Malad, Declo, Ririe, Rockland, Carey.